Meaningful Use Certification

Meaningful Use Certification

To qualify for financial incentives, healthcare providers must use Certified EHR system which is sanctioned by Authorized Testing and Certification Body (ATCB), also approved by the Office of the National Coordinator for Health Information Technology (ONC).

Following precautions must be taken for both health care providers and patients about their electronic health information:

- EHR system must be secure
- maintain data confidential
- open system to work with other systems easily
- must have ability to perform full functionality
- upgradable

To obtain a Meaningful Use, EHR Certification is a predefined process to ensure that EHR solution meets the adopted standards, certification criteria, and other technical requirements to achieve meaningful use. Nortec EHR v7.0 is a Complete EHR ONC-ATCB Certified 2011/2012 CC-1112-837410-1.

This Complete EHR is 2011/2012 compliant and has been certified by an ONC-ATCB in accordance with the applicable certification criteria adopted by the Secretary of Health and Human Services. This certification does not represent an endorsement by the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services or guarantee the receipt of incentive payments.

Meaningful Use Stages

The detailed definition of “meaningful use” is to be rolled out in 3 stages over a period of time until 2015. Details of each stage are ardently debated by various groups. Only stage 1 has been defined while the remaining stages will evolve over time.

  • Stage 1 (2011 and 2012) sets the baseline for electronic data capture and information sharing.
  • Stage 2 (expected to be implemented in 2013)
  • Stage 3 (expected to be implemented in 2015) will continue to expand on this baseline and be developed through future rule making.

Stage 1 Meaningful Use

Stage 1 contains 25 objectives/measures for Eligible Providers (EPs) and 24 objectives/measures for eligible hospitals. The objectives/measures have been divided into a core set and menu set.

EPs and eligible hospitals must meet all objectives/measures in the core set (15 for EPs and 14 for eligible hospitals).There are 14 required core objectives. The remaining 5 objectives may be chosen from the list of 10 menu set objectives.

Meaningful Use Stage 2

  • XIV Infopoverty World Conference

    Electronic Health Record and Its Role in
    Alleviating Poverty


    Abid Sheikh
    CIO, Nortec

    View Video
  • Electronic Health Record and Its Role in Alleviating Poverty
  • Schedule a free Demo
    Live Chat Support Software
  • Money Back Guarantee